SUE-MoT > Conference > Keynote speakers > Lynne Sullivan
SUE-MoT Conference 2009 - Second International Conference on Whole Life Urban Sustainability and Its Assessment - 22-24 April 2009 - Loughborough, UK

PhD workshop
Keynote speakers
Scientific Advisory Committee
Conference Organisers

Conference sponsors:
Sponsor links

Lynne Sullivan - Keynote speaker

RIBA, Partner, sustainableBYdesign LLP

Lynne Sullivan is a practising Architect and founder of SustainableBYDesign, an architecture and design practice born out of the design arm of Inbuilt which she joined as Design Director in 2008. For nine years previously Lynne was Sustainability Director at Broadway Malyan, one of the top 25 architecture practices in the world, where her work included acting as project architect for a new community in Dartford, a finalist in the 2007 Housing Design Awards, and for the shortlisted Zero Carbon competitions at Gallions Park 2006 and the 2007 Hanham Hall Zero Carbon Challenge for client Taylor Wimpey.

Her previous award-winning projects include the low-energy International Building, Royal Holloway College, winner of an RIBA Regional Design Award in 1999 and the RIBA/DETR 1999 Zero CO2 Housing Competition, as co-author of the winning entry, whilst at ECD Architects. Lynne has authored and delivered many papers on the subject of sustainable design, and contributes numerous technical and design review articles to the architectural press.

Lynne has a unique reputation in her contribution to policy and strategy for the sustainable built environment, which includes being the only architect on the Governments 2004-5 Sustainable Buildings Taskgroup, being a Member of the Governments Building Regulations Advisory Committee since 2002, and chairing the Expert Panel for the Scottish government whose report “A Low Carbon Building Standards Strategy for Scotland” was published in 2007. Lynne is a member of the RIBAs Climate Change Programme Board, is an Architectural Adviser to the RIBA Competitions Office, and sits on the National Design Review Panel of the Design Commission for Wales.

Construction Management Research Unit (CMRU) at the University of Dundee Glasgow Caledonian University Loughborough University University of St Andrews EPSRC SUE Consortia